Almost ready to begin

Ah the snap-lock bag. I used many.

 

Here’s my blog begun, and I’m lost for words… That’s not a good beginning, then is it!

 

Anyway, hello! It’s Lucy here, if you don’t know me already. This blog is a way of sharing my experiences and thoughts, photos and ideas and random things of my walk – well, pilgrimage of sorts – from Fremantle to Albany, through the South-West of Western Australia.

(Apart from tomorrow and half of the next day) I’ll be walking on the Bibbulmun Track, which spans the thousand or so kilometres from Kalamunda to Albany, though it wouldn’t be the way the crow flies. The track passes through the towns of Dwellingup, Collie, Balingup, Pemberton, Northcliffe, Walpole and Denmark. I intend to blog when I can get access to a computer in the towns, and will also have my off-track angels to scribe. (Thanks lovelies).

To kind of set the scene a bit, I’m walking the track as a reflective, embodied practice as part of my Honours thesis in sustainability. Its working title is: Pilgrimage and the Alchemy of Transformation – Finding a way from Entitlement to Gratitude. I love walking, as you would probably guess, and I know and I know that somehow it is deeply good for humans to walk. There is something of the bleeding obvious in that, but while we might get it, it doesn’t necessarily follow that we do it.  So I’m, you know, doing it for a while to see what comes out of it.

What will it take to bring forth a sustainable, just and fulfilling human presence on the planet? That’s the kind of enquiry I like. So I’m spending some time practising the old, old art of walking as a way of kicking around inside this and other questions.

My passion for journeying on foot began nine years ago when I heard about the old pilgrim’s trail across Spain and subsequently put my work boots on and walked over the Pyrenees to the Atlantic ocean. On the way I read a Spanish saying recorded in one of the logbooks (Porto la Reina? Can’t remember). El turista exige; el peregrino agradece. ‘The tourist demands; the pilgrim gives thanks.’ So that sparked my thinking on entitlement and gratitude, as ways of being in the world, as distinctions that shed a kind of light on what we’re facing, all of us, us all. On our planet. Now. So I’m playing at being a pilgrim, and finding a way from entitlement to gratitude.

Anyway. There’s packing to be done, goodbyes to be said, room to clean, iPod to charge, food to send and probably a lot of other things I can’t think of yet, that I probably should be doing!

See you on the track.

Love, Wildgoose.

Getting my food ready to send ahead to towns on the Track

 

 

 

 

About Lucy

I am a pilgrim, singer, artist, writer, researcher... I like trees, people, reading, swimming, flowers and the sky.
This entry was posted in Preparations. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Almost ready to begin

  1. Dina says:

    Oh Lucy, what an inspiring beginning, both for your blog and your walk!
    As John of the Cross said in _The Ascent of Mt. Carmel,_ “Ah, blessed adventure.”

    Go to peace!

  2. Rachel McKenzie says:

    ‘ If you are seeking creative ideas, go out walking.
    Angels whisper to a man when he goes for a walk.’
    -Raymond Inmon-

    ‘ All truly great thoughts are conceived by walking. ‘
    – Friedrich Nietzsche-

    Walk well sweet Mushy!

  3. radhika says:

    wonderful:) will walk along…virtually, nevertheless..

  4. pilgrimpace says:

    Nice one Lucy – you’ll be in prayers.
    Pilgrimage and sustainable just presence – I’m thinking through that too – I’ve got Dorothy Day’s ‘On Pilgrimage’ to read and pray through.

    Go well!

    Andy

  5. That is bound to be an extraordinary journey. I am glad Dina pointed me to your blog.

  6. Suzanne says:

    God’s speed Lucy, may peace and gratitude greet every step you take. I’m a friend of Dina’s.

  7. Suzanne says:

    Seems you’re moderating comments….this second comment is just so that I can check off subscribe to this site by email.

  8. tapirgal says:

    On the best on your incredible journey. I love it that you’re pondering sustainability, “justness” and humanity, etc. Truly, all best wishes go with you.

  9. robert says:

    There’s rarely anything more honest to me than walking.

    A safe step ahead for you.

  10. willv says:

    Thank you for your calling.

    Honk!

    Will

    Wild Geese – Mary Oliver

    You do not have to be good.
    You do not have to walk on your knees
    For a hundred miles through the desert, repenting.

    You only have to let the soft animal of your body love what it loves.

    Tell me about your despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.

    Meanwhile the world goes on.
    Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain are moving across the landscapes
    Over the prairies and the deep trees, the mountains and the rivers.
    Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air, are heading home again.
    Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
the world offers itself to your imagination,

    calls to you like the wild geese,
    harsh and exciting, –
over and over
    announcing your place
in the family of things.

  11. ali says:

    one step at a time and when the going gets tough remember those “invisible” marks! lots of love and heaps of admiration. xx aligator xx

  12. Petrea says:

    I, too, came by way of the inimitable Dina.

    Walking is creative. It allows your brain to work on things. I’m excited for you and your journey. Blessings on you!

  13. Lisanne says:

    Hi my dear Lucy,

    What a great beginning I am sure that your journey is going to be amazing because you are amazing!! Enjoy the ‘good and the bad’ of walking (eg beautiful pieceful surroundings, blisters etc) and I can’t wait for you to share the experience with us so we can gain some more wisdome through your hard work 🙂

    Love you lots xxx

  14. Brian says:

    I must say that I think your pilgrimage idea and thesis are both novel and inspirational. Good on you for bringing this to life. I look forward to hearing your stories when you return. 🙂

  15. Francesca Cozzolino says:

    Wonderfull project Lucy
    I would follow your itinerary on the track!!!

    I wait for your walk’s memories
    Best
    Francesca

Leave a Reply

