Of snap-lock bags, nuts and noodles, pepitas and porridge

What have I been eating?

Food plays a major part in the walking roadshow and from I’ve seen, can be pleasure, plain necessity or penance. You plan it, you shop for it, you prepare it, seal it off in little snap-lock bags. You carry it, measure it out, cook it maybe. And finally, you EAT it. You nibble, crunch, gulp, slurp, savour, devour, chew, chomp, suck and sip it.

Porridge and custard with fresh apple

Men especially, I’ve heard, can easily find themselves with a ‘calorie deficit’ and on a long walk can hardly carry enough food to avoid continuously losing weight. It’s a tough life, boys. Being a generous goose, I’m quite prepared to bear a small calorie deficit – for the common good, you know – and also for the reason that it gives me, as some happy (and sated) hiker put it, “a licence to eat.”

That said, coming into Collie, I was in the unique (for me) but not totally unwelcome position of not quite having as much food as usually I’d like. Unique because I have always erred on the side of too much rather than too little food, but as I said, not so unwelcome, because eating definitely carries an extra fringe of pleasure when your hunger is sharp and the opportunity to graze at will – distractedly, unconsciously – is not there.

The primo meal of the whole track (made in a camp kitchen): field mushrooms BBQed with rosemary and olive oil on toasted bread roll, draped with red onion and parmesan, and salsa of tomato, capsicum, pine nuts, oil and herbs. OMG yeah!

As far as my track diet is concerned, two things are relative constants: I start the day with protein powder blended with some nutrient dense powdered food like ‘vital greens’ or acai or cacao (which tastes pretty ordinary! I’m thinking I should add some Milo or something); and when I’m walking I have my daily portion of Scroggin, which I LOVE, and which contains some selection of: almonds, peanuts, cashews, walnuts, brazil nuts, pepitas, dried apricots, dried bananas, sultanas, dried strawberries, crysallised ginger, chocolate, jelly-beans, gogi berries,

Mashed potato with kale, salmon and mung bean sprouts

chocolate covered coffee beans and random lollies. I like everything about my scroggin.

For the other meals it depends whether I’m doing a whole or a half days walking and that would determine whether I have another two proper meals, maybe hot, or just one and some snacks. I love my track cuisine. This week, for example, I’ve had cous cous with sweet potato, tomato, other dried vegetables, rosemary and garlic; mashed potato with tuna, beetroot, garlic and kale; dahl with potato and mung bean sprouts; packet pasta with extra veggies, and my tried and true porridge with rolled spelt, custard and dried banana. For lunch and / or snacking I have sheets of seaweed with vegemite and dried tomato or zucchini; linseed and almond-meal raw crackers; raw chocolate ‘brownies’ and or course plenty of cups of coffee and tea.

Cous cous with tuna, peas and olive oil

This time around, most of my dehydrated food comes from Bec, my wonderful housemate, nutrition geek and raw / living food afficionado. Love you Becco.

Wildgoose Track Cuisine has been brought to you by the letter Y, U and M and by the numbers 2 and 5.

Bon appetit!

The Collie bakery makes the best custard tarts in all of WA

Spanish omlette made at Schafer hut with fresh eggs I was given at a local farm

About Lucy

I am a pilgrim, singer, artist, writer, researcher... I like trees, people, reading, swimming, flowers and the sky.
This entry was posted in walking. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Of snap-lock bags, nuts and noodles, pepitas and porridge

  1. Dina says:

    Your vivid description was making me hungry — until I got to the bit about seaweed sheets with Vegemite.
    Wish I could mail you some halvah.

  2. Brian says:

    I thought you might appreciate a little inspiration for your journey. Here is a poem about fortitude:

    The world is no more the alien terror that was taught me.
    Spurning the cloud-grimed and still sultry battlements whence so lately Jehovan thunders boomed,
    my gray gull lifts her wing against the nightfall,
    and takes the dim leagues with a fearless eye.
    [Benjamen Paul Blood (1874)]

    If you change ‘gull’ into ‘goose’ it’ll fit nicely. πŸ™‚

  3. Richie says:

    I wish you well on your journey. In 2001 my son-in-law hiked the Appalachian Trail in the Eastern U.S. It is a 2,175-mile long public footpath that goes from Maine to Georgia.

    An Arkies Musings

  4. James Boyd says:

    I hope that at some point you get round to writing a recipe book … all this talk of food is making me hungry!

  5. Erin says:

    I love the ingredients in your scroggin!! I also googled your name to try and find the blog and surprisingly came up with this: http://www.encyclopedia-titanica.org/titanic-biography/lucy-ridsdale.html (maybe you know it already?) craaaazy! lots of love

  6. Bec says:

    Yay goosey! Glad your having a gourmet time! Thanks for the postcard, EXCITING!!!
    I cant get to peceful day on tuesday night, i work all day and will get to Denmark on Wed morning, but definately camping w you on thursday @ monkey rock.
    Much love to you Lu, my most inspirational friend!
    xxx

  7. Lisa says:

    I just had a panicked feeling and thought “Oh no! I’ve forgotten to read Lucy’s blog!!”. So I came here and read it from the beginning with a sleeping baby Billie on my lap, and read this entry with her, appropriately, feeding. I wish you would blog all the time, it’s so nice to know what you’re thinking and feeling. And eating! πŸ™‚

  8. When will you start on the nourishing stuff — Sausage and mash or Aussie pies?

    The description of the Karie timber is great. My brother had a huge 100 year old tree growing on the lawn outside his bungalow in the tea plantation he was resident at in the uplands of Ceylon. Many years ago.

    Wish I was doing the walk with you. Dee and Ruth.

Leave a Reply

