Wandering Walpole, wondering wonders

Hi everyone!

I’m in Walpole now, on the Southern coast. A town close to my heart. I’m having a rest day today, a getting errands done day and an eating fresh food day (and yoghurt, coffee, fudge, cake, ice-cream and beer!). I’ve just been on a river cruise around the Walpole inlet, an enchanting estuary of clear green water, tree-carpeted banks, dolphins streaking around and lots of birds.

Gary with lemon cake

It was a Walpole Eco-cruise presented, captained and catered (home-made lemon cake!) by local legend Gary Muir, and it was seriously THE BEST tourist kind of outing I think I have ever done. Like ever!

Walpole inlet

One 19th Century French dude – who ended up in Walpole – nicknamed it ‘le nombril du monde,’ the navel of the world, because all the fluff ends up there! And Gary told us story after story, complete with props and accents and improvised stage sets, of the wondrous things that have happened here. Wondrous both in an objective way (such as the long-lost book manuscript and personal correspondence from the like of Tolstoy and Chekov found under the floorboards of a boat shed) and wondrous in the thousand-and-one ways given by the eyes of someone who loves his home with a passion and loves sharing about it.

Like there was the time back in 1987 that the one bank in Walpole was robbed – the bank that was only open for two hours every week – by two men wearing stockings on their heads that had the other legs still attached. They only made off with nothing but the petty cash because no one had made any deposits yet that day, and were chased by the towns people up the main street because Ma in the gettaway car – an old combi van – had lost her nerve and driven off!

Also, the horses for the 10th Batallian were trained on a beach near Walpole so Gary organised a kind of personal reconciliation between Gallipoli and Walpole that culminated in a visit by the Mayor of Gallipoli, exchanges of soil and many words of peace. He also traveled to Russia last year to repatriate these letters by Tolstoy and Chekov and ended up being arrested because someone was connected to a Cold War spy etc. etc. More colourful than Jacob’s coat, this one! Just a total pearler all round, and I hope to inspire some of you to come down to Walpole and experience it. Including you from far away!

From the estuary out to the ocean

The weather today is blustery with scudding mashed-potato clouds dropping the occasional spit of rain and taking turns with bright, hot sun. It is a good, good place. Nornanup, the old Nyungar name for it: place of the many black snakes! I’ve seen a good handful in the days walking up to it too. Tomorrow I’ll have another lounging morning and get me to the 10am service at St George’s for the second Sunday of Advent. Joy Sunday.

Yes indeed.

Love, and sunny ripples on green waters.

Wildgoose.

Joy shall come, even to the wilderness, and the parched land shall then know great gladness. As the rose shall the desert blossom and deserts like gardens will blossom.

About Lucy

I am a pilgrim, singer, artist, writer, researcher... I like trees, people, reading, swimming, flowers and the sky.
Aside | This entry was posted in walking. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wandering Walpole, wondering wonders

  1. Dina says:

    You really had me laughing here, e.g. about the fluff and the thief’s stocking.
    Sounds like a place and tour to put on my list.
    Thanks for all the enlightenment.

  2. Penny says:

    Thank you for the much needed lift today. x

  3. Rachel McKenzie says:

    I’m lovin knowing that your walking the beat in my beloved south west.
    Walk well sweet wild one, walk well!

  4. First off I want to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior
    to writing. I have had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my
    ideas out there. I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes
    are generally lost just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any recommendations or hints? Thank you!

    • Lucy says:

      Hi fotografo serate,

      Hey, thanks for your message and I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed the blog! How did you come across it? You have a German email address, but a Spanish-sounding name. I’m curious 🙂 … Hmmmmm. Very interesting question! If you’re referring especially to centering myself and clearing my mind prior to writing the blog entries, well, on the Bibbulmun journey it was not always easy because I was using public internet only about once a week, and therefore under time constraints. Usually I would make a balance between typing directly from my journal which I was writing every day, and also composing on the spot. It also felt important to be in the flow of that very moment of writing the blog entry rather than compose the whole thing in advance and then type it up. Often I would not feel fully centred in myself when I wrote, and I simply had to overcome that and say to myself that something is better than nothing.

      Last year I walked the Via de la Plata route of the Camino de Santiago and blogged about it at http://www.wildgoosecamino.wordpress.com and that was a different experience because I had a tablet with me. I agree that often the first fifteen minutes is not so productive, and also, I found that if I was composing a blog entry that was based on, but not exactly the same as my journal entry of the same event, then the blog entry was of a much higher quality and more enjoyable to read. I’m not sure why! Maybe because there is an audience there, maybe because this is like the ‘second draft’ …

      What are your thoughts?

      Thanks again,

      Lucy

Leave a Reply

